FC Porto is an internationally lauded team in the world, with a national record of six international titles, becoming European and World Champions twice each in the 1987 and 2004 seasons. In 1987, FC Porto also gained the UEFA Supercup (another first for Portugal) and, in 2004, it brought Portugal's first UEFA Champions League trophy, making FC Porto the most successful club internationally in Portugal. In 1987, FC Porto became one of a few teams in the World to hold in possession three major international titles simultaneously (the only one in Portugal). Domestically they hold the best record of five titles in a row, having won the Portuguese Liga 24 times. Other titles won by the club include the Portuguese Cup 9 times and Portuguese Supercup 15 times (57 national titles).
The football home ground is the Estádio do Dragão, which replaced the previous home, Estádio das Antas, in 2003. FC Porto is present in other sports: the handball and basketball teams are regular contenders for the national titles and the roller hockey section is amongst the best in the sport worldwide. The new multi-sport arena near the stadium will be completed soon; in past years the non-professional home grounds were scattered around neighbouring cities (such as Gondomar, Matosinhos and Santo Tirso). Supporters and players of the club are nicknamed portistas.
FC Porto was founded in the northern city of Porto on 28 September 1893 by wine-salesman António Nicolau de Almeida, who had his first contact with the game of football on one of his trips to England. The club was revived in 1906 by Monteiro da Costa.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário